Cherry Bakewell Tart

bakewellBakewell tart is one of my mum’s ‘go-to’ bakes. Whenever I go home from University there will undoubtably be one in the fridge, and often I will come back with them piled up on the backseat to be stockpiled in the freezer.  I flavoured this tart with the traditional cherry, spreading cherry jam across the pastry base, and studding the frangipani with fresh cherries as well. This is quite extravagant, and the jam alone is lovely. It can be modified to include any jam flavour as a base, in the past I have made apricot, blueberry (yum) and raspberry bakewell tarts. Also, please notice my gorgeous new praying mantis plate from Anthropologie, which was a Valentine’s present from my favourite.
Ingredients
For the pastry
300g plain flour
25g ground almonds
175g unsalted butter
1 egg
5 tablespoons of water
For the filling
some cherry jam
200g ground almonds
2 eggs
125g butter
100g sugar
50g chopped cherries
handful of flaked almonds

bakewell2bakewell4
1. Grease a tart dish with butter and dust with a little flour. I chose to use a round, pyrex pie dish which was a little deeper than your average tart dish that you can pop the bottom out of, but I only did this because I wanted as much frangipane as possible in my tart.
2. To make the pastry measure out the plain flour. Chop the butter into little cubes and then rub it into the flour using the ends of your fingers until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs and there are no lumps of butter left. Add the ground almonds.
3. Break an egg into the mix and slowly slice through it with a butter knife to incorporate the moisture. Next add the water a little at a time, clumping the pastry together until you are able to form a ball. Be careful because 5 tablespoons is only a guideline, there will be some variance in how much you need depending on your flour. Briefly need the dough until you have a smooth ball. Chill for 30 minutes.
4.  Preheat the oven to 180•C.
5. Prepare the frangipane filling. Firstly I washed and  throughly dried my cherries. I then de-stoned them using the magic cherry gun gadget my mum bought me, which shoots the stones out with considerable force. I then chopped each cherry into small pieces.
6. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and creamy. Alternate between adding half the almonds, followed by one egg, followed by the other half ground almonds, followed by the second egg. Mix well each time you add something new. Then add the cherries and stir through.
7. Roll out your pastry so it is large enough to line your tin and approximately 4mm thick. Drop this over your tin and press well into the corners so it is a snug fit.
8. There is no blind bake with this tart, as the frangipane weighs the pastry down nicely. Spread some cherry jam over the bottom of the pastry case.
9. Gently spoon the frangipane down on top of the jam. I tend to poke it off the spoon with my finger so it neatly drops down onto the jam. Don’t try to spread it over the jam as the jam will rise through the frangipane. You can flatten it out once you have filled the cake.
10. Sprinkle some flaked almonds over the top.
11. Bake for 30-40 minutes until golden brown. It will still be a little soft when it comes out the oven but will harden with time.

thisisnotapie.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/bakewell3.jpg”>bakewell3And to finish of, here is a picture of me bafooning with my cherry gun. Could I look any more
threatening?
3 thoughts on “Cherry Bakewell Tart

Leave a Reply

